Uranus’ Moons & Shakespeare

Uranus’ moons are named after characters from Shakespeare

Uranus’ moons are named after characters from the works of William Shakespeare and Alexander Pope.

To date 27 moons have been discovered around Uranus, those named after characters from Shakespeare include Titania (A Midsummer Night’s Dream), Oberon (A Midsummer Night’s Dream), Ariel (The Tempest), Miranda (The Tempest) and Puck (A Midsummer Night’s Dream).

Titania and Oberon were discovered in 1787 by William Herschel, Ariel in 1851 by William Lassell, Miranda in 1948 by Gerard Kuiper and Puck was discovered by the Voyager 2 spacecraft in 1985.

Related space facts:


  1. i love this website it made me hepl to study my social project and exams also i thank u once again and i love it
    regards from

    1. There is actually more, Juliet (Romeo & Juliet), Miranda (The Tempest), Ariel (The Tempest), Caliban (The Tempest), Stephano (The Tempest), Trinculo (The Tempest), Prospero (The Tempest), Setebos (The Tempest), Ferdinand (The Tempest)

  2. Hi my name is Emma I think that all of you are right this is very interesting and funny LOL! It really helped me with my project I had to do for school.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.